Connect with us





From TERESE TUHWA, Makurdi

Governor Hyacinth Alia of Benue State has charged the newly sworn-in commissioners to work tirelessly to ensure that they add value to the lives of the people they serve.

Governor Alia gave the charge recently during the swearing- in ceremony of 17 commissioners and 23 Special Advisers held at the new banquet hall, Government House Makurdi.

The governor who congratulated the commissioners on their appointments, charged them to quickly familiarise themselves with their various ministries, adding that their appointment marks the beginning of a new Benue.

Alia promised to introduce key performance indicators which will be used in monitoring performances of the Commissioners. And reminded them that their appointment was not a mere title or position of power but a sacred contract forged between them and citizens of the state.

Governor Alia told the commissioners to anticipate challenges while carrying out their duties, he however implored them to face such with courage, determination and resilience thereby making lasting and meaningful impacts on the lives of people of the state.

While calling on people of the state to embrace peace, the governor cautioned those making inflammatory statements with the motive of dividing the state, to desist forthwith, insisting that the people must show love to one another as well as to constituted authorities.

Responding on behalf of the new appointees, Rev. Dr. Fredrick Ikyaan for commissioners and Dr. Dennis Akura for special advisers in their separate remarks thanked people of Benue and the governor for trusting them to serve the state and promised to do their best to support the governor to move the state forward.

The new commissioners and their portfolios are Mrs. Joy Luga – Cooperatives, Urban & Rural Development, Barr. Oga Matthew Omale – Power & Transport, Rev. Dr. Frederick Ikyaan – Education & Knowledge Management, Hon. Ugwu Ameh Odoh – Water Resources, Environment & Climate Change, Hon. Kwaghba Amande – ICT & Digital Economy and Aboh Matthew Mnough – Information, Culture & Tourism.

Others are Hon. Tiza Orya Imojime- Works & Housing, Hon. Kunde Aondowase – Humanitarian Affairs & Disaster Management, Prof. Ogbaji Moses Ikape – Agriculture, Barr. Martins T. Shaager – Lands, Survey & Solid Minerals, Hon. Michael Oglegba – Finance, Budget & Economic Planning, Mrs. Ann Itodo – Women Affairs & Social Welfare, Barr. Fidelis Mnyim – Attorney General & Commissioner for Justice & Public Order, Rt. Hon. Terkimbi Ikyange – Youths, Sports & Creativity, Rt. Hon. Nick Eworo – Science, Technology & Innovation as well as Hon. Orpin Manasseh Alumo – Commerce & Industries.

Meanwhile, separate retreats have been scheduled for both Commissioners and the Special Advisers slated for Monday and Tuesday 5th and 6th September, 2023 during which portfolios will be assigned to the Special Advisers.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *