Connect with us


Senate sets up Constitution Review Committee




The Senate President, Senator God’swill Akpabio, has constituted a 43_ member Constitution Review Committee to handle all bills seeking for one alteration or the other in the provisions of 1999 constitution.

According to the Senate President, the 43 members consists of 8 principal officers who are to serve as Steering Committee within the larger committee. A senator from each of the 36 states of the federation and FCT and one senator representing each geo_political zone of the country.

Senator Akpabio disclosed that the 43 member committee will be chaired by his deputy, Senator Barau Jibrin, APC Kano North, Senate Leader, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele will serve as the Deputy Chairman. Deputy Leader, Lola Ashiru, Chief Whip, Ali Dime, Deputy Whip, Peter Nwebonyi, Minority Leader, Abba Moro, Deputy Minority Leader, Kamorudeen, Minority Whip, Osita Ngwu and Deputy Minority Whip, Rufai Hangs and others.


Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *